Malaysia wins first place at the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie

Malaysia has won for the first time the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie in Lyon. The contest was celebrating its 30th anniversary in the heart of Sirha



21 teams converging from all the world competed over 2 days to win the title of “World Pastry Champion”. Among the participating countries the team, composed of Wei Loon TAN (sugar specialist), Otto TAY (chocolate specialist) and Ming Ai LOI (ice specialist), impressed the jury and won over the judges thanks to a most creative and surprising performance.

For the 30thanniversary, the contest was keen to challenge the participants’ technical and creative skills by requiring for the first time the 100% vegan dessert. Wei Loon TAN, Otto TAY and Ming Ai LOI stood out among the other competitors under the watchful eye of Gabriel Paillasson (President founder of the contest), Philippe Rigollot (President of the International Committee), Etienne Leroy (President of the jury) and Gilles Renusson (President of Honour). Paillasson has particularly appreciated their work“It is the first time Malaysia is on the podium and it’s a new proof that in life when you are a good worker and you have a good professor, you get that kind of result. The presentation work was great and they followed the rules. It is important to me that the whole pastry world evolves and all teams have increased their level”.




Gold – Malaisie 

Sucre: Wei Loon TAN, 32 ans, Academy of Pastry Arts, SELANGOR

Chocolat: Otto TAY, 30 ans, Dobla Asia, BA RIA-VUNG TAU

Glace: Ming Ai LOI, 29 ans, Academy of Pastry Arts, SELANGOR 


Silver – Japon

Sucre: Fumiaki ITO, 39 ans, Pâtisserie Maison Douce, HACHIOJI 

Chocolat: Mirai NISHIYAMA, 35 ans, Henri Charpentier, NISHINOMIYA

Glace: Ryohei OGUMA, 36 ans Gourmet Wako, TOKYO


Bronze – Italie 

Sucre: Lorenzo PUCA, 29 ans, Pasticcieria pannamore, VASTO 

Chocolat: Mattia CORTINOVIS, 23 ans, Pasticceria Cortinovis, RANICA 

Glace: Andrea RESTUCCIA, 26 ans, Pasticceria Beddini, ROMA 




The « Eco-responsible prize », presented to the team most respectful of the raw materials used: United Kingdom

Sculpted Ice prize: Victor Dagatan, USA 

Chocolate prize: Justin Williams, Australia

Sugar prize: Jamie Houghton, United Kingdom 

Team spirit prize: Australia

Best promotional campaign prize: Chile 

Press prize: Australia

Best poster prize: Morocco


About the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie


The grand finale of the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie is held every two years in Lyon (France) as part of the Sirha world Food Service trade exhibition. The contest was created by Gabriel Paillasson and brings together teams from all over the world composed of chocolate artist, a dessert specialist and an ice expert, who combine their efforts to offer a super performance that is a delight to the palate as much as to the eyes, live in front of an enthusiastic audience of supporters.


 The winners with their works.



The Italy with its creations.





Articoli simili